- Departments A-G
- Clerk of the Circuit Court
- Concealed Handgun Permit
Concealed Handgun Permit
New & Renewal Permits
You may apply in person at the Circuit Court Clerk’s office for a Virginia Resident Concealed Handgun Permit. You must complete the application (which can also be provided to you in office) and provide proof of completion of an approved handgun safety course, or its equivalent. For questions regarding acceptable classes/qualifications please consult the Virginia State Police website, or contact our office by phone at 540-775-3322. You will need to bring a photo ID and the processing fee of $50.00 (cash, check, or money order) or $52.00 if paying with a credit/debit card. If paying with a check or money order, please make payable to King George Clerk. Please be advised that this fee is non-refundable. Once your permit is ready, we will mail it to. The law allows 45 days from the date the application submitted either for approval or denial. However, normally our turn around time on approval is 2 to 3 weeks.
If you wish to renew your current Virginia Resident Concealed Handgun Permit, you can apply in person or by mail. To apply for renewal by mail, complete the current application and mail in with a copy of your current permit along with payment of $50.00. Renewal applicants must provide a self-addressed stamped envelope for this office to be able to return the new permit. If a self-addressed stamped envelope is not provided you will be notified by our office that the permit is ready for pick up.
If your permit has been lost or stolen, you may request a replacement permit by filling out the Request for Duplicate Permit form (which can also be provided for you in our office). The fee for a replacement permit due to loss is $5.00 (cash or check) or $7.00 if paying with a credit/debit card. Please note this form will need to be signed in front of a Deputy Clerk in our office or a Notary Public.
If you would like to change the address on your permit, you may do so by filling out the Change of Address form (which can also be provided for you in our office or on the Virginia State Police website). The fee for a replacement permit due to an address change is $10.00 (cash or check) or $12.00 with a credit/debit card.
If you would like to change the name on your permit, please fill out the Request for Duplicate Permit form (which can also be provided for you in our office). On number 6 of the form, please state that you are requesting a duplicate permit to change your name and provide the new name you would like us to change it you. The fee for a replacement permit due to a name change is $5.00 (cash or check) or $7.00 if paying with a credit/debit card. Please note this form will need to be signed in front of a Deputy Clerk in our office or a Notary Public.
Nonresident Concealed permits are not issued at this office. You must contact the Virginia State Police
If you have been denied a Residential Concealed Handgun Permit, you have a right to appeal that decision. You must make your appeal in writing through the Circuit Court within twenty-one (21) days from the date of denial. At that time a hearing will be scheduled for you to go before a judge for reconsideration.